I Wish I Knew this About YouTube Back Then

When I gave birth to my son in early January, the life change I knew was coming from the moment I got pregnant had culminated, but I had no idea just how much this precious little boy would inspire me to do, particularly with my career online.

When you think about YouTube in the grand scheme of the social media landscape, it stands apart, and not just as a video platform but also as a monetization resource that lets its creators make money.

Whereas a large number of YouTubers have capitalized upon this opportunity, an even larger number have missed the boat, namely, me. I knew what I needed to do. I understood the role of keywords. I knew what it would take to create and promote videos. I even knew about a few hacks.

I just didn’t have the wherewithal to apply it for myself on my own YouTube channel.

The bare bones of this isn’t some long drawn out formula revealing a holy grail of YouTube secrets. I’m by no means qualified to speak on that (not like Reel SEO), but I can confidently say I found my niche after several years of procrastination and overthinking.

What was I overthinking? It’s simple: just the actual making of the videos.

I knew what I wanted to talk about and what I wanted them to look like, but I had some mental blocks around sitting down to film, edit and upload them all.

I didn’t know this at the time, but a large part of that was coming from feeling inadequate, either envious or overly critical of what I saw others doing. More often than not, I was overly critical of myself.

{Learn More: Get Stunning Aerial Shots and Make Vlogging Easier with the Drone Camera by ONAGOfly}

It’s one thing to attempt consistency and excellence, but it’s another thing to be a stagnant perfectionist, which is what I was. So I broke that by picking up my smartphone and I just started where I was. I went through my archive of videos already filmed to figure out what collages and creative montages could result from those. I organized my ideas better so that they’re easier to pull out of the hat when the time comes to make videos in the future.

It’s not about one’s resources but one’s resourcefulness, as Tony Robbins has popularly said.

This doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t seek to upgrade my products and systems. There’s always room for improvement, but there’s a time and place for that. However, there’s never an ideal or perfect time to just buckle down and do it.

Shortly after filling in the gaps for my neglected social media presence as a video creator, I purchased a suction cup tripod, miniature tripod and smartphone adapter, since I’m proud to say that I can create on the same device that I can make calls on.

Purchasing these items will help me up my A game, they support the work I do, but even without them, I’d still find a way to achieve the end result. Then again, with them, it definitely makes things easier and helps me to gain clarity about my ever growing brand.

That’s the beauty of YouTube next to other social media platforms. There’s so much to learn, so much to share there, and so much opportunity.

Why do you yourself use YouTube and, if you make videos, what are your tools of the trade?

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Knew this About YouTube Back Then

Leave a Reply

