Precious Things that Get Stolen from Creative People

“The most creative act you will ever undertake is the act of creating yourself.”

~ Deepak Chopra

The old paradigm that has told entrepreneurs they need to focus on one or two passions and deny the rest–it’s time to let that go.

Why do I think this way? Why challenge the status quo of career “rules?”

I did grapple with the concept for a while. On one level, I agreed with it. On another, and maybe a more progressive level, I disagreed with it entirely. It’s not that I think everyone should go out and overload themselves with a bunch of passion projects either. Take it from me, a jack of all sorts of trades, it’s incredibly time-consuming and psychologically taxing to make the connections when you have multiple aspirations.

Then again, I can’t tell you how long I hid my desire for sustainable, holistic living when I decided to limit my career solely to the marketing and advertising industry, which we’ll call my “primary” passion. I did what many of the sage entrepreneurs were telling me to do like a good little apprentice should…instead of listening to my intuition that was telling me that everything I loved was connected.

Consequently, when I didn’t tune into that voice, I found myself in the company of miserable wannabe collaborators who made me vomit from the stomach of my innate values. Some of them straight up stole from me. Some of them made me feel like I would never build my life by making use of my key strengths. I thought that my liberal arts education was going to be nothing more than memories in a sketchbook.

I thought that everything I had going for me would keep getting postponed or, worse yet, would be terminated for good, including my vision for a greener and healthier world.

{Recommended Reading: EFT as a Powerful Tool for Healing and Wellness}

There are no gold stickers being passed out for being compliant or impressionable. That’s not how energy leeches work. They aspire to live through other people by telling them how to go about achieving a goal, by telling them they’re not ready yet, maybe even by telling them that their work is useless and that another occupation is, instead, superior.

Those are the kinds of people who stole from me. They will steal from you too if you give them the chance. So, whenever you get the sense that someone’s unsolicited recommendation or command is 1000% incompatible with your life, listen to your instinct!

It didn’t take me long to realize how much some people’s contradicting, often convoluted ways of thinking undermined my ability to excel at my best work; and I learned that after one too many times of being told my creation sucked, I wasn’t conforming enough, I wasn’t doing things “right.”

On a recent journey towards passionate living, I decided to venture miles out of my comfort zone and–after a season spent couchsurfing and living in intentional communities–I, a business-minded writer with an artistic, earthy flair, dropped everything once again but this time it was so I could get some experience with subsistence and sustainable living.

{Recommended Reading: The Pain I Survived from Nearly One Year Ago}

As much as I tried to convince myself that I was cut out for the work there on the farm I stayed at, the truth is that I wasn’t cut out for it at all. Sure, it was the reflection of my ocean-sized heart for preserving the planet. I rolled up my sleeves like never before, but at the expense of my passion, man….my blog…my valuable livelihood. Once again, I had chosen one thing over another and traumatized my inner artist by letting the farm owner trash talk technology and invalidate everything I was willing to sacrifice for the sake of being part of a cause.

It took me forever to write this post here. I had to do some recovery after all that strife. My diary has recorded my blood stains, tears and sweat already. Somehow, I  managed to dig down deep within my soul for something that would remind myself just how beautiful and rich my life has been with the support of a simple blog.

At this point, I’m not here to say whether you should or shouldn’t choose one passion over another when making life and career-defining decisions. I am here, however, to tell you that you have to be wary of the people who influence those choices. They are your choices to make and believe me when I say that you will have to make them one way or another.

Even before my experience on that farm, I knew that I didn’t have to separate myself from my passions or disconnect my love for the arts, green living, and digital media and marketing. In fact, my silver lining broke through a little while back when I began the LittleMissScooter blog, a hub for creative, earth-friendly lifestyle tips. I found the time to create an outlet where I could openly give integrity to the things I love so much.

It’s time to stop feeling disconnected from good, purposeful work. It’s time to stop making self-martyring compromises. It’s time to find the healthy environments that make passionate living possible.

Where do you envision yourself living, working, and thriving in a healthier world?

 ***

Continue living inspired, and simply continue living!

Signature

P.S. If you find yourself resonating with this post, you would greatly benefit from joining The ILMC Network, an online community where we encourage one another to  create lifestyles and professional careers that are sustainable for the long term.

5 thoughts on “Precious Things that Get Stolen from Creative People

  1. If there is one thing I have learned over the course of my education, it is that I can’t let anyone tell me what I should do with my skills. It is completely up to me, and I love it that way. 🙂 Great post.

    • Yes, follow that inner voice when you’re navigating your career path.

      Everyday, I have to remind myself what I do and why I do it. I have gotten approached to do website design and that’s not my work AT ALL. Yet, some people out there will still try to convince me to do something just because I’m internet and design savvy.

      It doesn’t work like that. We have to know ourselves, know when to listen, know when to reject, know when to filter, lest we have no sense of self or purpose.

      Stay strong 🙂

Leave a Reply

