Journaling Prompt: “We vs. You vs. Me”

Way We Talk“Do you think we could make sure xyz gets done?”

It was one of the most fascinating anomalies to me whenever I heard someone asking me something in a passive tone like that.

The first thing that came to mind in response to this was Tara Sophia Mohr’s thought leadership about how many women tend to communicate.

Sorry ladies: it’s not always pretty.

In fact, in certain contexts in can be quite manipulative.

I wonder what she would say about this whole we vs. you vs. me concept.

For one thing, I have noticed that some people can’t always ask ‘can you take care of abc?’ but ask instead something like ‘can we make sure this gets done?’ when it’s clearly something that should be my responsibility.

I’ll be scratching my head for a while and I doubt I’ll be able to explain why that poor communication habit comes up.

And if you are guilt of this or something like it, take compassion on yourself because it’s an easy hiccup to make.

It’s not always a fault either.

On the other hand, generalizing could be something fosters community, much like how I say ‘we’ almost 1000 times a year on this blog.

I say it because I notice the behaviors of the general population of ‘we.’

I own up to some of these behaviors and I should: most of them are inextricably human.

At the end of the day, I am me.

You are you.

When you and I and some extra company come together, then we are us.

I’ll speak for myself this time by saying that I want to speak more clearly, directly, and consciously when making requests of others…

Others who aren’t me.


2 thoughts on “Journaling Prompt: “We vs. You vs. Me”

  1. On the other hand, I’ve had men approach me with the question, “Do you think we can make sure xyz gets done?” When xyz is something they themselves should be doing on their own. And then I respond, “What’s with this ‘we’ business? Do you have a mouse in your pocket?” 😛

Leave a Reply

