Journaling Prompt: "They Said It Was Stupid"

 

Take It Back

 Like the branches that need pruning, our egos take a good grooming every once in a while.

I was test driving a new project with a beta client back in 2013.

It wasn’t easy and it wasn’t necessarily hard either. It was just necessary yet pretty foreign because my only fuel was to be the feedback that I would receive.

The lady with whom I was working gave me a lot of clarity and we had a very mutually beneficial relationship.

However, we reached our final block and I was dropping the ball, sensing a lack of motivation from her end too.

“I don’t wanna be like ‘this is stupid’ but…” she remarked at one point.

I listened wide-eyed, patient and with neutrality. I knew it was time to stop.

‘Was she calling my work stupid?’ I later thought.

Thank heavens for all the great entrepreneurs who have gone before and paved the way and lived through the inevitable trial and error that comes with development.

When I said it wasn’t easy, I was talking about this part.

Eating my words, picking my battles, cutting my loses, packing up Lorax style and moving on to greener pastures–that was my plight.

Whether it was directly or indirectly, has anyone every insulted you or your work?

How did that make you feel? How did you transform that feedback into a positive outcome?

Spend some time with your feelings this week. Tune in, be honest, be real, get angry, feel happy, and keep writing.


9 thoughts on “Journaling Prompt: "They Said It Was Stupid"

  1. I’ve only encountered it once, by a drunken thespian. I considered the source, considered the suggestions, considered the beverage count, and chuckled. Left my work as is, not touched by the critique. Found here: http://sunflowersolacefarm.wordpress.com/2014/04/20/skin-tight-a-train-of-thought-activity/

    I’m still happy with it, and have done no editing in two months. Sometimes it is our work, sometimes it is our audience. We have to be open to both possibilities.

    Write on…

  2. A person who is very close to me once told me that I need to write “more cheerful” stories with happy endings. She said more of my stories would get accepted if I did, because people prefer stories that aren’t sad. I thought it was an incredibly ignorant thing to say, since she’s certainly not an agent or editor and doesn’t have an insight into what the market prefers. Besides, I decided a long time ago that I need to write for myself first and foremost, and if I had to write happy stories all the time, I’d just throw in the towel.

    • Right on, Miranda, right on!

      When I read the book, The Four Agreements, I felt so liberated to be able to do the work I wanted to do first and foremost, like you said.

      I just got this ridiculously stupid yet entertaining comment on an OOOOLD YT video that doesn’t even fit in line with the kinds of videos I want to make. The person was all like “UNSUBSCRIBED” and I just had to chuckle because I knew that he/she was judging based upon a work in progress.

      And does it make me any nevermind that he/she is gone? No. That person seemed to thrive off of negativity and that’s not the kind of person I want to attract, you know?

      Stay well and creative :]

  3. Excellent piece Sandra! Last summer, I was insulted directly on a article I wrote for TheHoopsReport.com. In this instance, I had to preview and give my tournament prediction for the Missouri Tigers (college basketball).

    As they were losing some of there best players and had to rely on freshmen/un-proven talent I made the prediction that they would not make the NCAA tournament.

    Well, one fan decided that I was wrong and even went as far as to call me a hack for my thoughts on the team. I could have responded, but I’m not the confrontational type. Instead, I told myself that I may be wrong come seasons end and that he’s just a passionate fan like me. Defending our favorite team is important to us!

    Although I ended up being right in my predictions (the Tigers made a the next best tournament), I didn’t try to rub it in or make a big showing of being correct.

    That experience just reminded me that everyone is not going to agree with you (especially when loyalties are involved). All you can do is write your best, you can’t control what people think about your work (as much as you may want to).

    • What a story, Aaron. There is so much negativity out there which is why I like that you dealt with it so positively. I think anyone doing a positive thing or making a good contribution is going to run into that kind of nastiness. I have LOL

      Thanks for your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

