Do You Think Your Work Sucks?

“When things are perfect, that’s when you need to worry most.”

~ Drew Barrymore

I’m not immune to feelings of inadequacy or inferiority.

After some introspection, I observed that they were based upon a variety of factors: the prettiness of the person running a blog “better” than mine, the feedback and participation from the followers of a brand, how much more successful a person was materialistically–I have been green as can be but not in the eco-friendly, heart-centered kind of way, if you know what I mean.

For that reason, I figured I would talk about it and I have been wanting to address this topic of feeling overly critical of one’s work.

I sense that everyone has likely felt some form of want, yearning, or lack in lieu of what others around them have. Western culture encourages that, and I would imagine that it’s not completely uncommon in other parts of the world. I think that given how the global economy and society operates as a whole, envy and jealousy are encouraged in fact.

{Recommended Reading: Will Volunteering Save Your Business or Career?}

The best thing that I could ever do was acknowledge how I felt. Having done so, I was able to motivate myself enough to write this post here.

Taking it a step further, I can assure you that it’s super unproductive to make comparisons or judge yourself. It might be hard not to whenever you feel triggered in the face of the success of others.

There are many painful ways the world at large can hit those buttons so make it your part-time job to keep those buttons protected and covered up.

Regardless of the cause of your envy, the sources triggering you are really sources of inspiration. I’m not talking about the kind of inspiration that prompts you to say ‘hey, let me run out and get some new product’ or ‘I need to be that way instead’ but rather the inspiration that leads you to developing your own set of values, goals, and ideas based upon what you want to achieve.

There is nothing wrong whatsoever with modeling your work after someone else’s if it helps you create the kind of template for the look and feel of your own professional image. I have done that and, trust me, when I say that will be eons helpful for any of you who are building a website or blog from scratch.

{Recommended Reading: New Trends in Digital Media You Should Know About}

It will take some time, a little practice and an overdose of self-love to keep yourself sustained through those kinds of feelings that arise. I believe in you, though. I know you can do it. Pretty soon, you will have created something that lights the way for other people who need the gifts you have. Just be sure to encourage them also because I can assure you that many of them will be coming in your footsteps.

Now is your chance to talk more about your experiences with envy and other related feelings that have robbed you. When did it hit you the hardest, if at all? Do you think you’re over it? Share your thoughts. Tweet me something too.

***

Be bright and powerful beyond your wildest dreams,

Signature

3 thoughts on “Do You Think Your Work Sucks?

  1. Dear Sandra,

    I very much love this post from beginning to end. I agree 100% we are encouraged by society to feel jealous and green (haha and not the eco-friendly kind, love it) in order to buy more nonsense. It’s all around us in the media an advertising – it’s endless and damaging. An endless cycle of empty. Self empowerment is the way out of crazy!

    I think it is so awesome that you acknowledge these things about yourself and we all know we’ve been there, too. Turning it into inspiration to be creative or innovative is just the ticket. Thank you as always for the good stuff.

    Wishing you peace, always ~

    Allison

      • Hey Sandra,

        I’m not sure what you mean by what I’m “dealing with right now” but if you are referring to the comparing myself to others and feeling green with envy, I recently decided that if I was feeling more jealous of others’ success than working on my own, I had to unplug from others for a time and give myself the space to work from my own heart and soul. If that makes sense? Sort of cut out the noise of “mine isn’t as good as . . . ” which just stunts my progress.

        By chance, did you receive a private note from me through your “contact me” page? No worries, I was just wondering if it went through! 🙂

        Thanks so much for helping us stay on track and inspired!

        Peace ~ Allison

Leave a Reply

