Journaling Prompt: "Lies, All Lies"

Stop Telling the Truth

“It’s the truth,” she said to me confidently, unblinking.

I gawked, unmoved, thinking about how immeasurable this “truth” thing is according to how it’s defined and what people want it to be.

That’s the funny thing: how can something so elusive be defined anyway.

If I were to guess, I would say that truth is, well, what people want to be true.

Yeah, yeah…I know how it’s not politically correct to define a word using that very same word in its definition or whatever…

Think about it, your own definitions and your own perceptions and your own realities.

There are things that apply to you and only you. They’re your truth.

I once heard this saying and it has stuck with me ever since. It goes something like this:

Everyone can talk about the same thing in 1000 different ways, and all their statements can be true.

Doesn’t that just open up a whole new can of worms?

Can you imagine the potential for chaos and disorder when one or more views coincide or contradict one another outright? Then people have the audacity to call things true.

The humanity.

It’s a deep, cosmic concept, truth is. We could explore this for eternity and never come back to the starting point of our journey.

In order to divulge more truth, at least in our personal lives, maybe it’s time to start debunking the lies that we have so easily adopted without second thought.

Give us more proof, more practicality, more evidence, more “logic.”

On your quest, where are you going to start looking and for what specifically?

Is there at least one truth that you can ascertain at this point in your life and why?

Think on it, search for it, share it.


3 thoughts on “Journaling Prompt: "Lies, All Lies"

  1. Exactly! Someone once told me, “Your perception is your reality.” For me, a truth that I carry inside and that influences my life more than anything else is the realization that this ephemeral time I have here on Earth, well, that’s all there is. No pearly gates or fiery hell waiting for me when I’m gone. So I’ve come to believe that time is the most valuable currency I have–not money, not possessions or status or fame or beauty–time. And that insight makes me choose to spend that currency much more wisely than I otherwise would have.

Leave a Reply

