Journaling Prompt: "Can You Be a Mother without a Child?"

 

A Mother without a Child

I want to be a mother.

I didn’t always want to be a mother, though.

I used to want to adopt because I thought childbirth would be too painful.

Then when I saw how bright, shiny and happy those families looked in the magazines, I found myself reconsidering.

Could I have a child from my own flesh and blood?

While I deliberated about this over the past few years, I kept meeting people who told me, “Sandra…you’re going to be a good mother someday.”

If I have it in me to be a good mother from my experiences of child rearing, babysitting, and teaching, wouldn’t that already make me a mother in a sense?

To be a mother, does someone have to have human children, have to be a female, have to do the “right” thing all the time?

What is a mother to you? Are you a mother?


2 thoughts on “Journaling Prompt: "Can You Be a Mother without a Child?"

Leave a Reply

