Once I Began to View Time as My Lifeblood

“If you don’t write when you don’t have time for it, you won’t write when you do have time for it.” ― Katerina Stoykova Klemer

Your lifeblood, time, is on your side and always on the line. No matter what people tell you, it is. Don’t you remember the moments when it seemed as if five minutes was an entire eternity? I’m sure with a little intention that one could just as easily turn that kind of five minutes (or five hours or even five seconds) into an eternal opportunity to get something done.

I sort of like when I fall short on time. Sort of. It challenges me to do some clean house. I had no problem pausing my projects, all my writing, all the things that truly matter to me. It was what resulted that I had a problem with. It was why I felt too burnt out so much that I only wanted to do the minimum. Shoot, with all the time I had over the past few weeks, it could have been the perfect time to stay on track with my visions and passions. I didn’t get everything done that I wanted to accomplish beyond my basic living needs, but at the very least I got to a good chunk of that cleaning house. Made the time for it, I suppose. I also began slaying some awful time vampires.

It’s an ongoing process, really. It takes time to drive that “silver stake” of fortitude and discipline through the heart of the beasts, but it’s a worthwhile effort that I trust will have a big return. I plan to reap that in a series of accomplished projects that no one or anything will try to suck the life out of.

So here are a few notes to myself, recaps–or reviews, rather–of the past several weeks and what I can do differently:

1. Avoid the vampires from the start.

2. Don’t let my “blood” reserve get sucked low…or at all.

3. Take time to replenish in the event that I started leaking again.

What have you learned lately?

Leave a Reply

