What You Should Know When You Hit Creativity Blocks

“Creativity is not the finding of a thing, but the making something out of it after it is found.”
~ James Russell Lowell

I love writing and I have been told that it’s apparent, but when I go for so long without doing it or if I fail to publish anything then I feel like the worst creative person in the world. That’s a kind way of saying that I occasionally kick my creative little legs from time to time when I feel stagnant creatively.

Lately, I have given thought to the topic of creativity. Part of my newly found epiphanies uncovers some of the myths about this topic.

Myths About Creativity

Myth: Creativity is like a muscle. If you don’t use it, you lose it.

Not-So-Myth: Creativity is neither lost nor found. It is already innate within every uniquely created, creative individual. 

Myth: Not everyone is creative.

Not-So-Myth: See the first not-so-myth above: Everyone is creative.

Myth: It’s hard being creative.

Not-So-Myth: It’s hard being creative…but it doesn’t have to be.

There’s a lot to unpack in this box here. There’s a lot to explore about creativity. Fortunately, I have found that the more attention that one gives to the mental concept of creativity, the more creative one feels and becomes. I’m living proof. It’s something I had to meditate on, something I had to tap into. When I continually meditate and tap into the idea of what creativity is, I find myself smack dab in the middle of place where newness and beauty oozes from my pores and fingertips.

Every [creative] person is different. Some might find it hard to hone their creativity. Others might get easily discouraged from expressing the creativity that they just know lies within them. It’s one thing or another. The problem for me is not that I don’t know how to be creative but rather that I find it difficult to do it consistently because of life pressures and delicate emotions. I have a few ideas that may help people like you and me:

Ideas to Help Us Get Over Our Creativity Blocks

  • We need to create only when we are inspired, when our muse is breathing right down our necks.  Doing so will help us flush out our system much quicker. Think about it this way: when you have to use the bathroom, when is the best time to go?…Right, you see what I mean.
  • We need to create only when we want to. If we find ourselves inundated by economic pressures as a motivator to be creative, then we may need a break and a means to make money that doesn’t rely on our inner spark. An artist, for example, may find solace in a side job if he or she is blocked by a lack of ideas or perhaps a lack of commissioned projects.
  • We need to get as much done in one sitting but also be willing to try making putting our creativity to work on a schedule. As fluid and integral to our innermost essence as human beings, we can still mold our creative clay into whatever we want or need it to be.

Here is to an abundant present and future filled with beauty and true self-discovery in artistic exploration.

Leave a Reply

