The Pain of the Entrepreneur

“Life is a tragedy for those who feel and a comedy for those who think.”

~ Horace Walpole

Inspired by the Daily Prompt: The Normal

Did you know the people who are the strongest are usually the most sensitive? Did you know the people who exhibit the most kindness are the first to get mistreated? Did you know the people who take care of others all the time are usually the ones who need it the most?…

The passage above is an excerpt from a post sent to me via a Facebook message from a friend. It continues on below:

…Did you know the 3 hardest things to say are I love you, I’m sorry, and help me? Sometimes when a person looks happy, you have to look past their smile and see how much pain they may be in. To all my friends who are going through some issues right now–let’s start an intention avalanche. We all need positive intentions right now…

This weekend, I had a much needed opportunity to hit the pause button. During such times of much needed rest, I find that I get the chance to reflect, do sort of a personal check-in. It keeps me healthy and accountable. So, while I thought, I also pondered some of the recent experiences I have had both professionally and on an interpersonal basis. This brought up so many emotions (many negative), but in the end I was really grateful for the clarity about my overall situation.

One of my biggest revelations was that many–if not every one of–entrepreneurs have some degree of personal pain. The beautiful and redemptive aspect of that pain, however, is that it always serves a cause. Much of my personal pain can be aligned with the fact that I am that individual who feels rather than thinks; and this personal pain is what drives me towards achieving the life want to live, towards the impact I want to make. This is not my all-encompassing definition of what it means to be an entrepreneur, but it certainly covers the one of the few reasons why I am not so quick to choose the beaten path even though I might meet some resistance from a “thinking” as opposed to a “feeling” society.

Whether or not you personally identify with being an entrepreneur, there is something that makes you different. Being normal seems to be irrelevant in the scheme of embracing your originality and what you have to offer during the life you have been given. I urge you to take your unique aspects coupled with your personal pains to turn a situation into a better one. You just might be surprised at the amazing things that will start to happen.

Have you had any recent successes that happened as a result of you simply “checking in” with yourself? Even if they were failures, is there a way you can still turn around whatever happened? Share with me in the comments below!

P.S. If you are in the Appalachian Maryland region, you should check out my program, CONNECT your dots, which has evolved into a meetup (now {CONNECT} Work-TO-Home) and is a course on entrepreneurial masterminding. The first session starts July 1, 2013. Get your tickets–registration is FREE!  

Leave a Reply

