Getting Your Writing Organized

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

Maya Angelou

Inspired by the Daily Prompt: The Satisfaction of a List

In March 2013, I started a new campaign called Share your voice, which offers free weekly journaling prompts via email for creatively frustrated artists, writers, thinkers, and inspiration-seekers like you (that is you right?).

I have this thing that makes me feel paralyzed if something doesn’t seem ready or feel organized yet…not to mention that everyone has their own different way of getting something organized. So many of the tips I come across just overwhelm me even more.

I have been openly inviting Mac lovers to blatantly make fun of me with all my talk about getting a windows phone and even a tablet. While as an artist I swear by Macs, there is something that “understands” me when it comes to Windows and Microsoft. I absolutely LOVE OneNote. I love me my SkyDrive and I am bound to Outlook for life. Their tools make me feel so grounded and organized more than ever before.

I created a notebook (see below) that initially was what I called my blogging scrapbook. It helped a great deal and by using it I was on a creative upturn. Recently, I streamlined by freewriting in my OneNote documents hosted in the cloud. In doing so, I was not only able to write just a bit faster by typing out my drafts but I also have been able to generate, categorize and organize lists of all my ideas and things I want to write about over the next year. This is essentially the start of an editorial calendar.

When I can lay everything out, bit by bit, line by line, it does something for me cognitively. It motivates me. It helps me get organized. That is precisely what I did in order to plan out for future content. Doing so helps me increase my processing and creative time so that I can focus on my art rather than figuring out what to say.

Here, let me show you. Below is a preview of some of the upcoming journaling prompt topics in the Share your voice campaign:

Weeks of May 2013

  1. Self-care
  2. Self-love
  3. Defining happiness
  4. Springtime Ayurvedic principles

Weeks of June 2013

  1. Planning for the rest of the year
  2. A whole new summer
  3. Childhood dreams of summer
  4. 10 years ago…
  5. 6 misconceptions about life

Weeks of July 2013

  1. Rewrite your favorite book
  2. In a perfect world
  3. What if life looked like a Dr. Seuss novel
  4. Your alter ego, movie star double life

So, there you have it! That’s the power of a list. I swear by the employing them as well as the use of an editorial calendar. However you decide to buckle down, plan and plot out your writing schedule, by all means go for it. Just whatever you do, make like Nike and do it.

What are your particular writing techniques, habits or tips? Do you schedule it out or do you just go with the flow? Share in the comments and be sure to share this with your friends!

P.S. During my upcoming program, CONNECT your dots, we work our creative muscles to shake off some of that creativity paralysis. The next session starts July 1, 2013. Sign up HERE  to get an alert when enrollment opens again!

2 thoughts on “Getting Your Writing Organized

  1. I like your blog… is very inviting. I have been checking out different styles form business to personal journals. Yours comes across as a lot more personal. Maybe its the font you are using, but its working for you.

Leave a Reply

