Listen. Repeat. Drink Some Coffee.

“Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.”

― Stephen R. Covey, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change

Has anyone ever stopped to wonder, ponder and just admire the beauty of blogging? I found myself reveling in the awe-inspiring wonder of the writing on OneThousandSingleDays. People like Vanessa, the author, would most likely exist and find other creative outlets had the modern tool of blogging never been invented. The only problem is, however, I myself would not have ever been afforded the chance to be graced by such powerful things I have come across via the internet.

Let me take the time to express some warm-hearted gratitude for what blogging is to me:

It is beautiful

It is one of my best agents for connection-making

It reminds me that it is more blessed to listen than to speak

It is most of all a coffee shop, just without the coffee itself.

If my computer started to provide me with complimentary drinks, I have no idea how I would manage to do a back flip…but I do not drink coffee so that settles it.

Templeton

I have come to the conclusion that in the never-ending quest of the human soul to be heard blogging finds itself as a well-oiled machine in the 21st century. It took me a while to realize that I do not have to be Super Eyes and read everything that goes out there. Would I try to eat everything in the grocery store? Probably not. I would die and look like the rat from Charlotte’s Web. In the same way I could scarcely read all there is to see of the gems soaring in the blogosphere. With what I do set my eyes upon, however, I want to be intentional and I want to abide there with my whole being as much as possible. For the value that already lies within the meaning laden words of another entity, I will extract meaning tenfold.

So try this: sit down, go through your feed (or find some neat blogs like this one), read, keep reading, respond once you have finished. Repeat.

8 thoughts on “Listen. Repeat. Drink Some Coffee.

  1. Oh this is such a true and wonderful post and I am SO honoured that you have mentioned my little blog in it. Thank you so much. I feel the same way as you do about blogging, half the time it is not the writing that brings me as much satisfaction as finding a blog which matters to me, which moves me or challenges me or makes me laugh out loud.
    You have done several of those things for me today. You have a new follower. Thank you 🙂

    • I saw the follow and for that I feel like I have another puzzle piece of heaven! Your blog is anything short of little by the way. You effortlessly draw bloggers like bees to honey. I can only honor that alone. Thank you as well.

  2. Pingback: Celebrating our very merry unbirthdays on Twitter | Come Walk With Me

  3. Thank you, Sandra Harriette, for your great words and observations! “Most people listen with the intent to reply” – so true. Thanks for the reminder. I love blogging and love reading inspiring blogs, like yours.

  4. Pingback: Part 2 of 5: Challenge the Process | A life inspired – Sandra Harriette

    • Precisely. We are all out sharing ourselves for different reasons, but nothing ever negates the fact that we are relational beings, whether it pertains to business or family or looking for a group to interact with–we need love. I am glad that you found this a good reminder, and thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

