Gain Simplicity

I just graduated on December 19th in the Class of 2012. Perhaps it has not fully hit me because of the fact that I am still adjoined at the hips with my institution thanks to a modest amount of school loans. I wondered what this time would be like, but I guess I don’t have to anymore because it has certainly arrived. Compounding upon that fact I will also have to find my own living space in the next 2 or 3 months.

I must note that quite often, when I begin to lean towards such things like order and predictability, I stumble over the thin line and find myself hovering right around chaos. This is a season of transition for sure. I haven’t all the time in the world and that is exactly how much time I would need to even begin to divulge everything I am facing and everything swarming through my mind. Thank goodness for bible verses for situations like these.

But, beloved, we are confident of better things concerning you, yes, things that accompany salvation, though we speak in this manner. For God is not unjust to forget your work and labor of love which you have shown toward His name, in that you have ministered to the saints, and do minister. And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence to the full assurance of hope until the end, that you don not become sluggish, but imitate those who through faith and patience inherit the promises.

Hebrews 6: 9-12

Besides following my task list, checking emails, peeking at my calendar, and researching apartments in the area, I had very few obligations today. I once heard that problems are just opportunities in disguise. Having holiday time off from one of my two jobs translated to me as a chance to finally roll up my sleeves and see what my subconscious mind wanted to work out onto paper. So, in re-translated words back to you, I was certainly in dire straits for a good creative opportunity.

I sat sprawled out on the basement floor, drawing, gluing, cutting–you name it. I figure that I might as well get used to being in that space because all I can be guaranteed to have may just be the floor for the first few weeks of spring. In addition I may be low on food from time to time. I will learn the true meaning of sacrifice through gritted teeth. I just might have to give away and sell some things as well. If there is one thing I won’t lose, however, it is my passion.

One thought on “Gain Simplicity

Leave a Reply

