Looking Back on Sundays

“I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them.”

~ Anne Rice

 

For a brief moment, I considered what would happen if I were to take a break from writing my weekly Sitting down on Sundays posts. The thought crossed my mind as I was thinking about what got me started doing this:

I was fasting every Sunday morning for a period of several months earlier on this year. At the beginning of my internship, I was thinking of new and fresh ways to share my experiences. I was in desperate need of an outlet. Then it came to me and I decided that I would pursue a project that would motivate me to stay consistent, one which would inspire me to  make connections within the events of my everyday life. Thus, Sitting down on Sundays was born.

Currently, I am in the process of challenging myself to pursue more creative projects. Right now as I write this a day late I am feeling the dryness. Writing my first ever guest post for Laced With Grace extracted a wealth of my creative energy. This post took the backseat (pun somewhat intended) to making sure the other post was completed on time. I am wondering if I can keep up with the pace of my own imagination. At the same time, however, I am immensely proud of the successes and triumphs I have had so far. It keeps me eager.

As I anticipate the future, I take into account some things I would like to see come forth in my life:

I want to be kinder to myself

I want to heal

I want to be more financially intelligent

I want to get adequate rest

I want to live an environmentally sustainable lifestyle and pursue holistic health

I want to move out west once I graduate in December

I want thrive in every way that I can

I want to see God

I want to radically love others

I want to publish my stories and poems

I want to sell my handmade crafts

I want to earn a living through what I enjoy doing, especially through my social media platforms.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you.

Matthew 6:33

That was the verse I included in my thank you video for those who supported my trip to Costa Rica. With just about a month left to be here, I am wondering how I can make the most of my time. For all that has been invested, for all that I have done to come to a completely different country, I absolutely have to put on the brakes and remember the grandeur of this accomplishment.

Keeping a journal has enabled me to reflect with much more insight on what I have been through. If I don’t take into account what I have accomplished then it will be all the more difficult to pursue a goal let alone a new direction.

Ultimately, I wonder if all that I desire will ever come to pass. In the meantime, I will still be sitting down on Sundays. I’m here to stay, to share my journey, to continue rehashing and making connections reflecting. If you will, come walk with me.

2 thoughts on “Looking Back on Sundays

  1. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: Time to stand up…and stretch | Come Walk With Me

  2. Pingback: I Want This for You | A Life Inspired

Leave a Reply

