‘Hay Que Ver’

The old has gone, the new has come

“A certain man had two sons. And the younger of them said to his father, ‘Father give me the part of the property that falls to my share. Then he divided his means of living to them…When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many hired men of my father are abounding with bread, while I am perishing here from famine! I will rise and journey to my father and say to him: “Father I have sinned against you and against heaven. I am no longer worthy of being called your son.”

Luke 15:11-12, 17-19

The most exciting part of a plane ride is the roaring launch that happens within the first few seconds. It feels like my body is being sandwiched by gravity. While gazing out the window, knowing full well it was far too late to turn back, I sat waiting in anticipation for the sensation of that initial thrust. Then it came and I burst into tears.

I laid the bible face down onto my lap and looked out the window. Seeing how everything was pure white in my view, imaging Jesus just bursting right through, I everything just came to a sudden halt. I knew that I was wrong. I knew that I was also in a lot of pain and that I had plenty to be anxious about. After all, I was en route to a foreign place about which my knowledge was limited. I knew for three months I would see neither friends nor family. It felt like a really sad story except I couldn’t escape it. I 30,000 feet above it and only miles away from it. The lingering tension of an argument with my dad was what I was leaving behind as I embarked towards Costa Rica. That was not the foot I wanted to be on. By the time I arrived in Miami I knew that it was only right for me to call and clear the air so to speak. I had to ask forgiveness. I didn’t know if I would get it, but I had to ask.

So he rose and went to his father. While he was yet a long way off, his father caught sight of him and was moved with pity, and he ran and fell upon his neck and tenderly kissed him…the father said to his slaves, ‘Quick! bring out a robe, the best one, and put a ring on his hand and sandals on his feet…because this my son was dead came to life again’ he was lost and was found.’ And they started to enjoy themselves.

Luke 15: 20, 22, 24

Pues, no me falta nada. Sólo hay que ver lo que estaré pasar.

10 thoughts on “‘Hay Que Ver’

  1. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: Press on & “Persistir” | Come Walk With Me

  2. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: A Day Late | Come Walk With Me

  3. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: This one’s for you | Come Walk With Me

  4. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: So, Here I Am | Come Walk With Me

  5. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: Who I am is “enough” | Come Walk With Me

  6. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: Time to stand up…and stretch | Come Walk With Me

  7. Pingback: Speaking the universal language of art therapy | Come Walk With Me

  8. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: The Anti-Resolution of a New Year | Come Walk With Me

  9. Pingback: Part 1 of 5: Inspire a shared vision | A life inspired – Sandra Harriette

  10. Pingback: When You Lose Hope and Inspiration | A Life Inspired

Leave a Reply

