Before My Pen Runs Out of Ink…

“An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail.”

Edwin Land

I am sure everyone has heard that term “I never cease to surprise myself”. Whoever was the first to claim that was probably in my ancestral lineage.

I have made it a point to rehash my past journal entries and musings now that I am in between seasons, and I am trying not to let defining moments slip by me as they are like my own personal user manual. I made a goal for myself in one of my most recent entries, stating that I wanted to try keeping a social media calendar for the week that lay ahead.

This was so effective in many ways because, as with any to-do list, it helped me pace myself and live up to the standards I had set out for myself. All the note taking, reading the blog posts about effective social media marketing, the networking, and especially that habit of jotting down my ideas (lest I inevitably forget them) has been so effective. There are few words to express the way I feel when I reflect and see that I successfully challenged myself. I’ll leave it at this: it felt good.

Please believe I am still lacking in balance immensely. I have an Achilles heel too of staying up late in hopes of getting more done. Insanity truly is doing the same thing over and over, expecting the same results.

I sat calmly next to my friend in the pews at church earlier today.  I gazed around the room like I normally do in admiration of the candles, the window dressings, and the eagle-shaped pulpit. Everything in the room felt like a cross between Christmas and a folktale. The interior of this Episcopalian church resembles Noah’s ark except it’s upside down.There had been no blaring organ music to greet us when we entered, though. Instead, the tone of often times a cacophony of wavering voices reverberated off the walls.

For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that we through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures might have hope. Now may the God of patience and comfort grant you to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus, that you may with one mind and one mouth glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore receive one another, just as Christ also receives us, to the glory of God.

Romans 15: 4-7

The woman in the next pew ahead briskly gestured in order to get me to follow everyone else who stood up for communion. I had no inclination to. I just wanted to sit. I wanted to observe. In a modest congregation size, however, I must have looked like a rebel without a cause…a tired one.

I have had some rather scarring experiences in the church and with some Christians overall. According to Dr. Joe Dispenza, everything someone has experienced is organized in the neurological structure of the brain. Further to that, the frontal lobe in the brain plays a role likened to that of a symphony leader as far as it concerns cognition. (In this case, let’s call it the “choir director”.) It drives the focus of attention primarily. Attention, awareness, intentionality, and focus are all products of a properly operating frontal lobe.

Now, about intention, I know what I want; I want to share my insights with a community which I have little to no way of reaching otherwise. Getting up in church service, however, was irrelevant. I simply did not want to do it. I suppose if I had done so then what I would be saying now would totally different.

So, if you have made it this far then congratulations: your frontal lobe has done it yet again!

Works Cited

Klein, Maury.The Change Makers: From Carnegie to Gates, How the Great Entrepreneurs Transformed Ideas into Industries. Macmillan, 2004. Print.

Paul Steinbrueck. “7 Tips to Maximize Energy.” LiveIntentionally. LiveIntentionally.org.  17, Aug. 2012. Web. 19, Aug. 2012

“Romans 15:4-7″ BibleGateway.com. New King James Version (NKJV), n.d. Web. 19 Aug. 2012.

Breaking the Habit of Being Yourself: How to Lose Your Mind and Create a New One. Dr. Joe Dispenza. Hay House, 2012. Video. Youtube.com

Evolve Your Brain – The Science of Changing Your Mind, part 1/8. Dr. Joe Dispenza. 2011. Video. Youtube.com

The Three Brains that Allow Us to Go from Thinking to Doing to Being. Dr. Joe Dispenza. TEDx Tacoma. 2012. Video. Youtube.com

Quantum Factor Featuring Dr. Joe Dispenza (What the Bleep!?). Dr. Joe Dispenza. Quantum Factor. 2012. Broadcast. Lost Arts Productions. Youtube.com

One thought on “Before My Pen Runs Out of Ink…

  1. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: This one’s for you | Come Walk With Me

Leave a Reply

