The Grateful Dead

God can undo what has already been done. Second-degree faith is resurrection faith. It’s a faith that refuses to put periods at the end of disappointments. It’s a faith that believes that God can reverse the irreversible.
– On the “Persistence Quotient” in The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson
The Developing Mind terms self-knowing as autonoesis, which is very much dependent of memory. Dr. Siegel states at the beginning of the chapter on Memory: “It constructs the past, the present, and the anticipated future, and it’s sensitive to both external and internal factors. According to his other book, Soulprint, Mark Batterson would have called this new sense of memory pre-imagining. A simpler way to think about this is the fact that our own personal narratives, shaped by our experiences and general knowledge, are what continue to shape us furthermore as we live presently in steady anticipation of the future.

In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is  your strength.

Isaiah 30:15
This prophecy pertains to different people of a different time, place and setting. Even so, what I learned recently is that many of the prophecies and promises within the bible extend much further then them and reach as far as our modern day.  Really, I have to admit that I am less than equipped to say much else than that. Several weeks ago, I sat across from the three girls in my life group. “This is a season that I really need to spend reading the prophetic books.” I had no elaborate explanation beyond that. My mind was blank for once. My spirit, however, was stirring. If I could see my inner self I would probably have been nodding.
One of the girls from that same group eventually opened up to reveal that she, too, had a beating heart for environmental stewardship. She suggested that we watch the film Queen of the Sun: What Are The Bees Telling Us? a film about the lynch pin of the bee’s role in the ecosystem and how the environmental crisis faces another large risk because they are immensely endangered. When the film was over, I listened to her as she reflected and expressed her frustrations. Sitting down on that couch in the common area of the church, sizing up every material object within my sight, tuning out the white noise of the massive air conditioning unit, something changed. I put aside all the facts for a moment and honed in on myself because, after all, change is an inside-out process; and I smiled as I took observation of a subtle sense of empowerment rather than my usual despair.
“The prophet’s role,” I told her after several minutes of silence, “is to say ‘Yo, look at this! Seriously, there’s vomit on the floor and a fire threatening to burn this whole place down on the other side of the room. Someone is getting beat up on the front porch and there’s an emaciated dog chained to the coffee table. Hello?”
In the beginning of the film, Gunther Hauk of Spikenard Farm expressed his gratitude over the environmental crisis. Never before had I heard such a perspective about a menacing crisis. It’s so true, as Mark Batterson also states in The Circle Maker: “We ask God to keep bad things from happening…but there is another dimension of faith that believes that God can undo what has already been done.”

The whole crowd of disciples began joyfully to praise God in loud voices for all the miracles they had seen…Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples!” “I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

Luke 19: 37, 39-40
I believe wholeheartedly that bees are one of the many agents of nature crying out in anguish and desperation because many humans have not. Keep in mind: our limited understanding is influenced directly by the past, and this has been consequently shaping our future. God exists beyond time and Lord only knows that I cannot begin to express God’s vastness. Let’s just say (for time’s sake) that He’s pretty big. I think if He created time itself He can give us clearer vision of what lies ahead.
Hmm…to say I am grateful for a crisis…I doubt that I could say that with 100% authenticity. Can I instead say that I believe God has a wonder to display to mankind? Certainly.
So I think that’s all I have to say.
It’s pretty quiet in here.
Leave a Reply

