All Aboard

“Humility is the proper estimate of oneself.”
Charles Spurgeon

An elderly African American man and a Caucasian woman stood on one end of the train, I in the middle, and they were belting out proclamations about the imminence of the end because of the recent events of cannibalism in the news. Wow. After they left the Muslim and the atheist whom they were talking at (I emphasize at not to) they started to make their way down the aisle, a deranged look in their eye as if going on a hunt. My arm reached out sooner than I could really think and allow inhibitions to deter me. The man called something back to his female counterpart and then swooped down several inches closer to me.

“What’s your name?” I asked him.
“We are the children of the something-something,” he replied.
“Okay, that’s nice, but what’s your name?” I repeated.

We played that game for a little while, or so it seems, and then he asked, “If I were to tell you my name were Jesus, would you believe me?” I looked into his eyes, glanced at the woman beside him, and then back at him, then I replied, “Sure, if that’s what your mother named you at birth.”

They began to say something else as the train approached my boarding stop. ‘Thank heaven,’ I thought. They redefined the term “crazy train.” I often leave people with a loving ‘I’ll be praying for you’–even if they aren’t believers–and it’s a means to encourage. The phrase at this time, however, might have passed through their filter and sounded more like ‘I’ll be telling God how much of a sinner you are and how much you need to repent, silly human’ because the woman barked after me, “Pray for yourself!”

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Matthew 11:29

So, what would Jesus have done? I mean, even Jesus himself got frustrated by the pharisees from time to time. Especially if they were parading identity theft.

Leave a Reply

