Here, Take a Rest

A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed.
~ Proverbs 11:25

For a while now, I’ve been thinking about a blog post series and what I would write about, granted that I pursued one. Ann Kroeker writes about Food on Fridays and regularly keeps her followers updated in her Curiosity Journal. L.L. Barkat writes On, In and Around Mondays. United Campus Ministry meets God at anytime. Other wonderful bloggers are writing on Still Saturdays. I think it’s about time I joined that bandwagon of poignant tagliners by creating my own. Literally, I’m sitting down on Sundays. I often spend these mornings fasting, in devotion, preparing my heart for the day, especially if I am going to church service; and, ultimately, it helps determine my course for the rest of the week.

I also just need something to keep me on my toes. There are already a few irons in that unsnuffable fire of my projects. Well…I don’t consider this another iron per se, but I could say that a blog series would definitely crank up the heat on this project of mine which I’ve already started.

There were two empty chairs on the balcony this morning. One was for me, undoubtedly, and the other remained empty. I sat down, scooted up by the wall, gulped my tea, and sketched quick gestures of people walking down on the sidewalk below. Then I proceeded to read 2 Corinthians, chapters 1-8

If anything relates, this passage does:

At the present time, your plenty will supply what they need, so that in turn their plenty will supply what you need. Then there will be equality, as it is written: He who gathered much did not have too much, and he who gathered little did not have too little.

2 Corinthians 8:14-15

“The thing about grace is just that,” I explained to a friend the night before, “It’s receiving provision although we don’t deserve it. We really don’t deserve it.”

Those chairs are not mine. They were purchased by someone else to be sat in; but although belonging to another, they invite the weary, the vertically fatigued bodies. They offer rest and relief to the wounded souls. At least that’s what they did for me today.

Yes, even the empty chair.
3 thoughts on “Here, Take a Rest

  1. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: Press on & “Persistir” | Come Walk With Me

  2. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: This one’s for you | Come Walk With Me

  3. Pingback: Looking back on Sundays | Come Walk With Me

Leave a Reply

