Working Towards Love

In response to On, In and Around Mondays

I know exactly…that I don’t know exactly just what I want to do with myself in this time before I leave for theDeluge internship. It seems that I have plenty of time to think, to sneeze, and to have allergies even as I try to sleep; and yet I only think and sneeze some more. Oh yeah, and I then I write things like this.

I went to a potluck, I communed and took pictures and a few bites of food; I talked about Jesus, about the divide beteween our modern culture and his culture.

I’ve also been thinking about the limitations of relationships. I’m thinking about the various times that people have told me:

People are more important than things

Will I meet someone like this ever again?

I was reading last night in Habitudes (a book of images that form leadership habits and attitudes) about the Opportunity Statue. In Athens, there has been one statue that rises significantly above the rest. It has long, flowing hair in the front, but is completely bald in the back. In the same way, opportunity is, um….hair, if one would like to call it that. Someone can reach out and grab it while approaching it. It is fleeting, however, and if it is not seized at the right moment then it is gone. It is gone forever.
By the way, just as a disclaimer, I apologize to all my bald, hairless friends. This is just a metaphor. With or without your hair, I know that God still has many plans for your life.
The exercise in the end of that section in the book, “Practicing the Truth”,  made an interesting point:
The 80/20 Principle teaches us that with the right priorities, the top 20% of your activities gives you 80% of the results you desire. Start living by this set of priorities. Does this sound too strict? You must learn to value your time.
To realize the value of one year, ask a student who has failed his final exam.
To realize the value of one month, ask a mother who just gave birth to a premature baby.
To realize the value of one week, ask the editor of a weekly newspaper.
To realize the value of one day, ask the daily laborer who has ten kids to feed.
To realize the value of one hour, ask a boyfriend and girlfriend who are waiting to meet.
To realize the value of one minute, ask the person who just missed his flight.
To realize the value of one second, ask the the person who survived the car accident.
To realize the value of one millesecond, ask the person who has won a gold medal.

I sat on the floor beside this young gentleman. A small candle illuminated our tiny corner. I shifted my legs various times as I tried to find a comfortable cross-legged position while listening intently to his words.

“Life is so fleeting, even now,” I expressed to him.
For a moment, he grew quiet in apparent accordance with my statement. I mentioned the excerpt from Habitudes. I didn’t know why, but it had come to mind and I had to share it with him. I told him that I was reading the book in preparation for theDeluge, which I referred to as a discipleship program in this circumstance. He asked what I meant and I described it to him, mentioning the program’s ultimate goal of ‘helping us learn to be true Christ-followers.’

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:14-16 NIV

The rims of his glasses cast a gentle shadow in the tinted crevices around his eyes. My heart resounded with the potential of his vision, that is, his purpose. I refrained from sharing any of my thoughts about that, though. I could only listen. He had so much that needed to spring forth anyway. Even so, he doesn’t use the internet, he owns no laptop, he has no need for Facebook–he lives in the present time carrying the values and life standards of the past. What could I do? Might I write him letters? I am still figuratively scratching my head. I’m hoping that whatever God does in his life is impactful, nonetheless, and manages to reach the people who need that very impact. If he doesn’t resort to the internet, I’m sure God has intentions for that. So be it. God is bigger than technology.
(Okay, I must admit: that concept makes me cringe just a little bit.)
In light of that–all this talk about light–I am recalling from what I read earlier in blog linked from the LearnVest website:

“I don’t think there is much value in the way that my relationships were becoming a string of meaningless ‘Likes.’ I’m tired of mindless clicks and mindless purchases. I crave intention.”

I crave intention. That is the resounding theme of the intrapersonal dialogue echoing from every human heart.

2 thoughts on “Working Towards Love

  1. That's an interesting observation. I am trying to remember that God is truly bigger than ALL things. It is sufficed to say that He is bigger than what He does, because it often seems that people want God to bend and conform to what they want Him to be when they want it. I am often reminding myself of what I tell others: God's not your rich uncle in the sky.

Leave a Reply

