Assumptions


Tony was the man who had come to our illustration class some weeks back to give a demonstration for Liquitex paints. I expressed to him my concern about the lack of environmental respect and stewardship so common within artistic practices, to which he simply replied, “We all have some sort of impact on everything.” He gave me a few ideas and tips about how I could be a more sustainable artist, but I think that his initial comment was one of the most important things I could hear at the time…’Make an impact? Me?’ I pondered. I was already sensitively aware of just how I was negatively affecting my physical environment, but at that moment I realized that my very concern for the matter of sustainability ran so much deeper.


Connections have to be made. I am a multitasker of talents, or at least I want to be. My mom, Poet-a-tete, has been talking with me about my brand. I feel she’s really trying to get me to focus on what I do, who I am, and how everything can and should be coming together for my career. It’s a good thing to think about, certainly. I felt like I would never reach the point where I could ever be marketable. She hasn’t been the only one to urge me to consider this, though.It’s so confirming and encouraging when I hear the affirmations from multiple sources. People tell me I could be good at a lot of things: teaching, being an art therapist, doing freelance artwork, working on digital media–a surfeit of professional pathways. I feel, however, that even if I have a lot of talents, I am really only meant to be good at a few things. With all of this in mind, it was certainly helpful to read the blog post by L.L. Barkat Kids in Business: Networking Starts Early.

Fundamentally, in order to envision what others have been seeing in me, I had to take a leap of faith, reach out and trust God.

This past spring semester, I held two art exhibitions. The first one, The Canterbury Tales, was at the church that owns my rental. The administrative assistant had to track me down and, in a sense, nearly corner me in order to do it. I remember being on the phone and feeling like banging my head against the desk over the prospect of adding anything else to my already heavy work load. It was a decision I didn’t regret, though. because it eventually brought together a lot of people who needed to meet; and it brought me an immense amount of joy despite all the frustrating preparation.


 
And as a part of a digital presentation during that show…


Neither did I expect so many people to attend the senior art exhibition, APEX. A group of five people, myself included, had to coordinate the event. Thank heavens it’s over now. I’m ecstatic for the turnout inextricably, and I cannot deny that I am elated having sold one my artworks to my godmother in addition to 9 cards to other clients. What an unexpected…yet somewhat expected surprise. Nevertheless, I have never wanted something so great to be so over! I am in dire straits for sleep.

What’s next? I am going to pursue this idea of greeting cards. I can’t stop dreaming about it. I feel like I’m just lying awake in my sleep…folding paper, make creases, cutting, gluing.

It never ends.

2 thoughts on “Assumptions

Leave a Reply

