My Desert Song

Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”
Matthew 9:35-37
The following account is one about the significance of passion. (By the way, if you long to see a more expanded version of passion in action, then read the first few chapters of the book of Nehemiah too. Taste and see.)
I despised the idea of taking a freshman level English course as an upperclassman. Never would that have happened to me, or so I thought. However, I find myself increasingly intrigued by the former things I have rediscovered and the new things I am already learning.
I had finished the assigned reading early when we had gotten it towards the beginning of the semester. This section outlines different characteristics of writing, and it provides examples of techniques and possible approaches to start the writing process. I kept thinking as I was writing: ‘I need to apply these things to my blog.’
Our printmaking instructor introduced us to gelatin monotype printing. I turned to one classmate, Linda, and said, “I wanna do a face,” as I was admiring the flexible, jelly texture of the gelatin block. The end product, displayed above, resembles some sort of muddy cosmic chaos. This is one of those various circumstances in which the art mystically reflects the condition of my psyche.
I was sitting at my computer before leaving for the grocery store. Something about preparing for these trips always revs me up. I have met so many incredible individuals on the bus and through various means of public transportation. I have had so many encouraging conversations and opportunities to encourage all the same. This time, I met Laura, who is an English major and Art minor. I told her that I am an Art major and Spanish minor. As it turns out, we share a class together. She began telling me about a thesis paper she had written about The Catcher in the Rye, which is one of our favorite books.
After describing it (she had developed a scenario in which she diagnosed Holden Caulfield with a certain psychological disorder and was confining her approach to the story within that context) she said, “I just used a bunch of jargon there. Do you know what I mean?” and I replied, “Yes, in fact! I have moments where I get so passionate about a topic and tell someone. Often times, though, they just blankly stare at me or, even worse, pretend they understand and say ‘oh yeah yeah’ when it’s obvious they don’t get it. So trust me. If I didn’t understand I would definitely tell you.” I reiterated my understanding of her explanation. She confirmed with me. By then, we had approached my house. Her dwelling was another few blocks away. I reminded her of the sketches due the next day for our Advanced Illustration class. We parted ways and I went inside to put away my groceries.
I read a post, How to Increase Your Likability, on Guy Kawasaki’s blog. One part of the diagram mentioned the necessity of seeing the potential in others, believing that everyone is good at something. Everyday, I am reminded that I just want to live a smart, inspired as well as inspiring life. That’s probably why I have gravitated towards the people that I have, including Guy Kawasaki. I mean, after all, his mantra is How to Change the World.
My passions are many, definitely, but sometimes it seems like so much is against me. It can be so disheartening to see everyone around us with their own agenda and rightfully so. We’re walking a dry and weary land; it’s the desert. I used this illustration in a previous conversation with Linda. “We just have to keep moving because there’s no stopping,” I expressed to her plainly, “Otherwise all hope is lost for us.”
When I created this video I told my friend, Nick, that I just want to keep creating. I want to do so each and everyday. I just lifts my spirits. It makes me feel right. I feel alive. I understand God in particle sized pieces in the process. How liberating it feels to be momentous, energized and active.
You can find my friend, Nick Diamante, on Youtube. He’s someone else that gives me a reason to keep walking. I have realized that we, as people, need each other now more than ever. We have many more similarities than what it may seem.
Pray for what you need. I know that if God has shown me and provided the connections, then He will also do the same for you. Whatever you do, just never stop walking.
5 thoughts on “My Desert Song

  1. It just seems like life is like that sometimes, you are either walking in the desert, or drowning in a sea. But as long as you have a goal you always know where you are headed. Thumbs up for post Sandy.

  2. Thank you, Bobby! I need to keep these visuals in mind because, while I may be in a present predicament, I know that I am metaphorically trudging my way to an oasis; or I am floating back to shore.How did you find me? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sitting down on Sundays: Press on & “Persistir” | Come Walk With Me

Leave a Reply

